Tea Party Bag

My daughter loves her tea set and she absolutely needed a tea party blanket to go with it. Okay, fine. I admit it. She didn’t need it. I wanted to make one, but can you blame me? Look how cute it is!!

img_1366

I followed this tutorial from Pretty Prudent except I made two handsewn buttonholes for the drawstring. Handstitching buttonholes sounds scary and complicated but it really isn’t if you have the right supplies. These two posts explain it really well.

You will need:
-ruler, sewing gauge, etc.
-washable fabric marker for marking the buttonhole placement
-sharp seam ripper, small sharp scissors, or exacto knife
-silk buttonhole thread
-crewel needle
-beeswax

img_20160920_202946My two buttonholes are imperfect and uneven, but it doesn’t really matter. 🙂

img_20160923_083854

I knotted my string through the end of a safety pin to pull it through the casing.

 

img_1378Even Puppy loves having tea on the new tea party blanket.

Leave a Reply

